"Gee, Brain what do you want to do tonight?" "The same thing we do every night Pinky. Try to take over the world!"
Okay, so I'm not exactly Brain, but I did find out that one of the patent applications I'm named on was approved. How did I find out? Did I get a call from Bill Gates? Nope. How about the US government ? ("uh... hey. um... one of your patents has been accepted. Have a nice day.")
Nope.
Only in the land of the Free
do I find out via somebody trying to sell me something.
Sigh.
On a happy note, today we welcome another new ACES blogger: http://blogs.technet.com/engauged/default.aspx
Oh, and I came across this post today over at Avsim, in which a fellow by the name of mgh in Reply # 5 states about our FS Insider site:
"I've previously expressed my doubts about this site.
Does anyone know of any other MS site that sells apparel, outerware, bags, office accessories, speciality items, and gift certificates through a 3rd party in this case eCompanyStore?"
All I can say is yes the FS Insider site is really ours, and yes, other Microsoft Games Studios have 3rd party sites where they sell stuff:
http://www.bungiestore.com/productcart/pc/default.asp and http://www.xboxgearstore.com/
Both clearly state: "This web site is operated by Sunrise Identity, Inc. and is solely responsible for its contents and operation. "
You may also note that the Bungie store is linked directly from their website: http://bungie.net/
I think it's wise to be cautious in today's world, but hopefully the fact that the Insider site is ours is now unambiguous.