<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="http://blogs.technet.com/utility/FeedStylesheets/rss.xsl" media="screen"?><rss version="2.0" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/" xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"><channel><title>Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx</link><description>Okay, so there are about a million social techniques being used in email to get your attention and entice you to click on some bad link, but since this one purports to be from Microsoft, I thought I’d post a quick warning and do a bit of digging, since</description><dc:language>en-US</dc:language><generator>Telligent Evolution Platform Developer Build (Build: 5.6.50428.7875)</generator><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3508718</link><pubDate>Thu, 12 Jul 2012 13:35:27 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3508718</guid><dc:creator>JimmyJoeBob Alooba</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;@Alun - I sometimes do exactly what Jeff does, except that I also engage the IE9 dev tools and NetMon to see exactly what&amp;#39;s happening.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Like Jeff, I use a VM todo this work, but unlike Jeff, that VM has no logical or physical connection to my workstation (XP mode may have drives mapped, etc.).&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sadly, as in Jeff&amp;#39;s example, I rarely discover anything useful - they&amp;#39;re almost always Canada pharma ads.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3508718" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3508717</link><pubDate>Thu, 12 Jul 2012 13:31:51 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3508717</guid><dc:creator>Jim Harrison</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;@Jeffrey - Don&amp;#39;t waste your time responding to these spam-mails.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;No one is listening, no one will respond and you may well do nothing more than verify to the spammers and malware distributors that a real human is reading these mails.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3508717" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3508703</link><pubDate>Thu, 12 Jul 2012 11:48:40 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3508703</guid><dc:creator>Aciana</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;I just delete them or forward them to spam@uce.gov and then delete them and the forward.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3508703" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3505937</link><pubDate>Tue, 26 Jun 2012 04:02:37 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3505937</guid><dc:creator>Jeffrey T Valerie</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;I just made a comment, but I now save these mail to send to the proper office, that may include me phoning before even emailing (forwarding) that mail. but I would love to send them somewhere like here for professional analysis.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3505937" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3505934</link><pubDate>Tue, 26 Jun 2012 03:57:39 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3505934</guid><dc:creator>Jeffrey T Valerie</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;I been getting these and usually write them back asking where they know me from and if they don&amp;#39;t answer in 48 hours, their blocked and deleted.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I have been getting other mail also, ones from DHL, Lloydes Bank and a booking in some hotel.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;This morning a guy who was pissing about getting off a bus said he got some transactions and blaming the driver for not waiting for him to get off, asked me if I would be a third party using my bank account. I told him I get enough emails asking the same thing.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3505934" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3505475</link><pubDate>Fri, 22 Jun 2012 20:11:00 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3505475</guid><dc:creator>Jeff Jones - MSFT</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;Alun - Im with you. &amp;nbsp;The bigger risk is that instead of redirecting to a Pharma site, it could have taken people to a pre-staged attack page. &amp;nbsp;My assumption is that ones like this might be using URLs in a way to gets the SPAMmer some click ad revenue or some ohter way of monetizing.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3505475" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3505472</link><pubDate>Mon, 18 Jun 2012 16:51:10 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3505472</guid><dc:creator>Alun Jones</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;I am, quite frankly, mystified as to why someone would click on a &amp;#39;friend request&amp;#39;, see that they are taken to a pharmacy site, and then actually buy something from that site.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If someone phoned me, said &amp;quot;I&amp;#39;m trying to see if you&amp;#39;re the same guy I went to school with&amp;quot;, I might be inclined to chat for a while - but then if he steps into a pitch selling pharmaceuticals, I can see he&amp;#39;s wasting my time with a scam and hang up. I find it hard to understand how people actually spend their money during such a process.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3505472" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3503819</link><pubDate>Thu, 14 Jun 2012 03:14:15 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3503819</guid><dc:creator>Ed</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;Canada still has cheap prices on Viagra? :-)&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3503819" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3503560</link><pubDate>Wed, 13 Jun 2012 02:30:56 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3503560</guid><dc:creator>SteveR</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;I received today what at first appeared to be a notification of 2 friend requests from facebook. Tapping on the &amp;quot;2 friend requests&amp;quot; link took me to this same canada site, which I did not explore.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3503560" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item><item><title>re: Warning : Fake Microsoft notification allegedly from Windows Live</title><link>http://blogs.technet.com/b/security/archive/2012/06/12/warning-fake-microsoft-notification-allegedly-from-windows-live.aspx#3503559</link><pubDate>Wed, 13 Jun 2012 02:28:31 GMT</pubDate><guid isPermaLink="false">d5e57398-b9ef-4490-9955-07cbb4e4a80d:3503559</guid><dc:creator>rashid</dc:creator><description>&lt;p&gt;it&amp;#39;s so important to pay close attention to those e-mail&amp;#39;s, that will get you every time.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;div style="clear:both;"&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img src="http://blogs.technet.com/aggbug.aspx?PostID=3503559" width="1" height="1"&gt;</description></item></channel></rss>