Connecting Windows 8 to Small Business Server 2011 Standard after the Installation of the Latest Update Rollup 3

Connecting Windows 8 to Small Business Server 2011 Standard after the Installation of the Latest Update Rollup 3

  • Comments 1
  • Likes

[Today’s post comes to us courtesy of Sabir Chandwale and Charanjeet Singh from Commercial Technical Support]

Update Rollup 3 for Small Business Server 2011 Standard addresses the warning message while joining a Windows 8 client machine to Small Business Server 2011 Standard server. There are few more fixes as part of Update Rollup 3. For details please visit knowledge base article.

After applying Update Rollup, follow the steps mentioned below to join a Windows 8 client to Small Business Server 2011 Standard server.

  1. Open browser and type in the URL http://sbsconnectcomputer.

  2. Click on Start Connect Computer Program

    image

    image

  3. Accept UAC, click Run.

  4. Once the launcher.exe is downloaded, click on Run again.

  5. You will get a warning relating to SmartScreen. Select Run Anyway.

  6. Select one of the options on the screen Setup this computer for myself or Setup the computer for other user.

    image

    If you choose the second option, Set up this computer for other users, you will get additional screens which asks for network administrator credentials, provide option to select users and assign level of computer access for the users.

  7. The wizard will check the computer requirements.

    image

  8. Enter the username and password. This can also be of a standard user.

    image

  9. Enter the Computer name and description.

    image

  10. The following warning is displayed that the wizard cannot move existing user data and settings automatically. This is to ensure that the Windows 8 modern apps work well after it joins the domain.

    The steps to move existing user data and settings is documented here. Click Next.

    image

  11. On the next screen click Restart.

As mentioned in the screenshot above, the program will automatically open and continue connecting to the network after restart.

Your comment has been posted.   Close
Thank you, your comment requires moderation so it may take a while to appear.   Close
Leave a Comment
Comments
  • Yep - this is exactly how it happened when I did it. You didn't cover what happens afterwards though. Using Win 7 you get to choose to login via your local account or onto the account which has joined the Domain. The Win 8.1 Pro machine I joined to a clients domain last night doesn't do that. You cannot switch user, nor can you access the local account prior to joining the domain. This was one of the directors of the company who was standing beside me while I did it. There is no warning that this is going to royally screw you and make you look foolish in the eyes of others before you begin.