Office 2013, Remove unwanted SharePoint Online / SkyDrive "Save As" backstage items

Office 2013, Remove unwanted SharePoint Online / SkyDrive "Save As" backstage items

  • Comments 3
  • Likes

Issue:

It is possible to get into a situation where users could be synced with Office 365 but not have access to SharePoint Online or SkyDrive Pro services.  When this happens the Office Save As screen (aka Backstage) shows these Office 365 connections to users even though they can not use them.

Also in the contact card a link called "SharePoint" is shown that points to the users MySite that they possibly do not even have.

There are some group policies that control the Backstage area, but they are mostly all or nothing, removing all SharePoint referencing not just the Office 365 ones.

The workaround below should remove the O365 SharePoint on line content from the Office Save As screen and the "SharePoint" link in the contact card.

 

Workaround:

None

 

Current Status: 

This is a known issue, it could be addressed in a future version of Microsoft Office.

 

Comments
  • We are currently planing the migration to Office 365 and have exactly the described problem. Our company policy prevents us from saving anything to Cloud Services so our Users don't have a SharePoint Online license assigned. At the moment we couldn't find any possibility to disable the SharePoint links in Backstage. Is there any further information on when this will be fixed? Best regards, Thomas

  • Is this what you're after? It will hide all online save options from Office 2013.

    http://community.office365.com/en-us/forums/148/t/150245.aspx

  • It hides *all* online save options. This is such an awful nuisance.

Your comment has been posted.   Close
Thank you, your comment requires moderation so it may take a while to appear.   Close
Leave a Comment