SharePoint Online users have a Recycle Bin where deleted content is stored. You can access the Recycle Bin to recover deleted documents and lists if you need to. This is sometimes called the first stage Recycle Bin. If you delete a file from your Recycle Bin the file is taken to a second stage Recycle Bin called the Site Collection Level Recycle Bin.
First stage Recycle Bin
Second-Stage/Site Collection Level Recycle Bin
You delete a file e.g a document from a document library...
The deleted file goes into your Recycle Bin...
If you delete the file from the Recycle Bin...
It goes into the second stage recycle bin – the Site Collection Level Recycle Bin (accessible to you if you have the Site Collection Administrators Role)...
When you restore the file from the Site Collection Recycle Bin...
Its restored to its original location...
The following data types are captured by the Recycle Bin:
The following data types are not captured by the Recycle Bin:
*The Recycle Bin in SharePoint Online for Enterprises provides a safety net when an entire site collection is deleted. When a SharePoint Online administrator deletes a site collection, it is placed in the Recycle Bin where it is kept for 30 days before it is automatically permanently deleted - read more here
Useful post. Thanks to much.
And what happens to the file or folder when deleted in Explorer view?
Hi. when I tried to restore, I am getting an error the file name already exists. But when I checked in the document library, there is no file with the same name. Could you please help me why is this happening.
If you are facing problem of corrupt, damaged SharePoint database, then you can try
http://www.undeletepcfiles.com/sharepoint-database-recovery.html tool to quickly and easily recover all MDF file items from corrupt SharePoint database.
If you have problem to recover lost formatted data, a good tip is to try the free trial version of a commercial product that will scan the device for deleted files and show you exactly what files can be recovered as thumbnail images in the preview screen.
At least that will show you if you can recover the deleted files or if it's too late already.