And now, a quick “commercial break” from my planned daily blathering about “Ian’s European Workation” (NOTE: The previous was a lame attempt to parody National Lampoon's European Vacation):

On Wednesday, November 4th, David Ferris of Ferris Research will be conducting a 30 minute webcast on our integrated archiving, retention, and discovery capabilities introduced in Exchange Server 2010.

Here’s what the folks from Ferris have to say about the webcast:

Microsoft Exchange 2010 and Archiving: The Complementary Role of Third-Party Solutions
Wednesday, November 4, 2009
8:30 a.m. Pacific, 11:30 a.m. Eastern, 4:30 p.m. U.K., 5:30 p.m. CET. One-half hour.

On April 15, 2009, Microsoft announced that Exchange 2010 will have built-in support for archiving. Though Microsoft has been slow to reveal details about the new offering, its announcement is shaking the archiving market and the adjacent markets for e-discovery and compliance.

Customers are considering whether to adopt Microsoft’s solution and, if appropriate, whether to migrate away from currently deployed solutions. They are deferring purchases of archiving solutions until Microsoft clarifies its offering. And archiving, e-discovery, and compliance vendors are reevaluating their technology and sales messages.

In this webcast and its companion white paper, David Ferris cuts through the confusion about Exchange 2010 and explains what the product’s archiving features do, what they don’t do, and how the technology is likely to evolve. A Q&A session will give attendees the opportunity to ask questions.

It’s worth noting that Microsoft is a sponsor of both the webcast and the white paper (as are metalogix, smarsh, and Waterford Technologies).

To register, visit here.

-- hama