imageConsider the following scenario:

  • You create a task sequence to install an existing Operating System Deployment (OSD) image package.
  • On the State Migration page, you select the Save user settings locally option.
  • You deploy this package to some clients.
  • The deployment process fails.
In this scenario, you may find that the captured user data is deleted from the User State Migration Tool (USMT). This means that a computer that captures user data may wipe the hardware drive that contains the user data, and then you cannot restore the deleted user data.
You expect the user data to be saved in another location during the OSD process instead of being deleted.

If you're running into this issue then check out our new Knowledge Base article and hotfix:

KB958808 - User data from the USMT may be deleted unexpectedly by the task sequence engine during the operating system deployment process in System Center Configuration Manager 2007 SP1

J.C. Hornbeck | System Center Knowledge Engineer