Register TODAY for the next free ACM Webcast, "Async JavaScript at Netflix," presented on Friday, August 29, 2014 at noon ET (11 am CT/10 am MT/9 am PT/4 pm GMT) by Jafar Husain, Cross-UI Team Technical Lead, Netflix.
The talk will be followed by a live question and answer session moderated by Erik Meijer, Founder and CEO, Applied Duality; ACM Queue Editorial Board.
(If you'd like to attend but can't make it to the virtual event, you still need to register to receive a recording of the webinar when it becomes available
).
Note: You can stream this and all ACM Learning Webinars on your mobile device, including smartphones and tablets.


What's does a mouse drag event have in common with an Array of numbers?
The answer to this question may surprise you: they are both collections. This key insight holds the key to dramatically simplifying asynchronous programming in JavaScript. In this talk you will learn how you can use the familiar JavaScript Array methods to create surprisingly expressive asynchronous programs. Using just a few functions, you will learn how to do the following:

  • Declaratively build complex events out of simple events (ex. drag n' drop)
  • Coordinate and sequence multiple Ajax requests
  • Reactively update UI's in response to data changes
  • Eliminate memory leaks caused by neglecting to unsubscribe from events
  • Gracefully propagate and handle asynchronous exception
In this talk we'll be exploring the Reactive Extensions (Rx) library (https://rx.codeplex.com/), which allows us to treat events as collections. You'll learn about how Netflix uses Rx on the client and the server, allowing us to build end-to-end reactive systems. We'll also contrast Rx with Promises, another popular approach to building asynchronous programs in JavaScript.
Duration: 60 minutes (including audience Q&A)
 Presenter: Jafar Husain, Cross-UI Team Technical Lead, Netflix
Jafar Husain is Netflix's Cross-UI Team Technical Lead. He specializes in building application servers and user interfaces using functional reactive programming. He's also an active member of TC39, the standards body responsible for evolving the JavaScript language.
A highly-rated speaker, he has delivered talks about reactive programming at HTML Dev Conf, QCon, Code Mesh, YOW! and has given multiple Channel 9 interviews on the subject. He has also authored interactive training software to help developers learn about functional reactive programming. @jhusain
 Moderator: Erik Meijer, Founder and CEO, Applied Duality; ACM Queue Editorial Board
Erik Meijer is a Dutch computer scientist and entrepreneur. From 2000 to 2013 he was a software architect for Microsoft where he headed the Cloud Programmability Team. His work at Microsoft included C#, Visual Basic, LINQ, Volta, and the Reactive programming framework (Reactive Extensions) for .NET. His research has included the areas of functional programming (particularly Haskell) compiler implementation, parsing, programming language design, XML, and foreign function interfaces. In 2011 Erik was appointed part-time professor of Cloud Programming within the Software Engineering Research Group at Delft University of Technology. Since 2013 he is also Honorary Professor of Programming Language Design at the School of Computer Science of the University of Nottingham, associated with the Functional Programming Laboratory.
Currently Erik is CEO of Applied Duality Inc., which he founded in 2013. In the past, he was an associate professor at Utrecht University. He received his Ph.D from Nijmegen University. Erik is the receipient of the Microsoft Outstanding Technical Leadership Award (2009) and the Outstanding Technical Achievement Award as a member of the C# team (2007). He is also a member of the ACM Queue Editorial Board.
Click here to register for this free webinar and be sure to share this with friends and colleagues who may be interested in this topic. And check out our past events, all available on demand.