What’s the Big Deal with Big Data? And, more importantly, what is the business case for Big Data? In this session, we will focus on the fundamentals of Hadoop as it is the foundation for Big Data. We’ll talk the technology but also the business cases on what you can do and not do with Big Data.

Register TODAY for the next free ACM Webcast, "Simplifying Big Data with Hadoop," presented on Tuesday, July 23, 2014 at 1 pm ET (noon CT/11 am MT/10 am PT/5 pm GMT) by Denny Lee, Senior Director, Data Platform. Lee's work include HDInsight for Windows Azure (Hadoop as a Service for Microsoft's Multi-Tenant Cloud). The talk will be followed by a live question and answer session moderated by Michael Zeller, CEO of Zementis; Board of Directors, Software San Diego; Secretary/Treasurer, Executive Committee of ACM SIGKDD.

(If you'd like to attend but can't make it to the virtual event, you still need to register to receive a recording of the webinar when it becomes available.)
Note: You can stream this and all ACM Learning Webinars on your mobile device, including smartphones and tablets.

Duration: 60 minutes

Presenter: Denny Lee, Senior Director, Data Platform
 Denny Lee is a senior director and startup entrepreneur with a specialty in leading, architecting, implementing, and delivering solutions to solve complex data problems. As a passionate technologist, he has worked with numerous companies to solve their immense analytics problems both on-premises and in the cloud. Notable examples of Lee's work include HDInsight for Windows Azure (Hadoop as a Service for Microsoft's Multi-Tenant Cloud) and Yahoo!’s 24TB SQL Server Analysis Services cube (Campaign Display Web Analytics solution).


Moderator: Michael Zeller, CEO of Zementis; Board of Directors, Software San Diego; Secretary/Treasurer, Executive Committee of ACM SIGKDD
 Michael Zeller is the CEO of Zementis, a software company focused on the operational deployment of predictive analytics. Zementis was recognized by CIO Review as one of the "Top 20 most promising Big Data companies in 2013" and named "Cool Vendor in Data Science" by Gartner in 2014. Michael currently also serves on the Board of Directors of Software San Diego and as Secretary/Treasurer on the Executive Committee of ACM SIGKDD, which is the premier international organization for data mining researchers and practitioners from academia, industry, and government.

 


Click here to register for this free webinar and be sure to share this with friends and colleagues who may be interested in this topic. And check out our past events, all available on demand.