Register TODAY to attend the next free ACM Webcast, "3D on the Web — Introduction to WebGL," presented on Tuesday, October 29, 2013, at 12 noon ET (11 am CT/10 am MT/9 am PT/4 pm GMT) by Alain Chesnais, Past President of ACM and Co-Founder and Chief Scientist at TrendSpottr. The talk will be followed by a live question and answer session with Alain. (If you'd like to attend but can't make it to the virtual event, you still need to register to receive a recording of the webinar when it becomes available.) Note: You can stream this and all ACM Learning Webinars on your mobile device, including smartphones and tablets.

WebGL has been introduced in HTML5 as an implementation of OpenGL ES 2.0 in JavaScript. It extends the 2D canvas primitive to incorporate real-time 3D support without requiring any plugins. In this webinar we will look at the history of WebGL, introduce the viewer to the core concepts of the API, and present several demonstrations to illustrate what you can do with it. We will also address issues related to current deployments and limitations.
Duration: 60 minutes
Presenter:
Alain Chesnais, TrendSpottr; Past President of ACM
Alain Chesnais recently founded TrendSpottr, which develops web services to identify real-time trends in social media communities such as Twitter and Facebook. Formerly, he was the CTO of SceneCaster.com and Vice President of Product Development at Tucows Inc. He also served as director of engineering at Alias|Wavefront, managing the team that received an Oscar from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for developing the Maya 3D software package.
Alain is also Past President of ACM, having served the two-year term beginning July 1, 2010. Prior to his election as ACM president, he was Vice President from July 2008–June 2010 as well as Secretary/Treasurer from July 2006–June 2008. He also served as President of ACM SIGGRAPH from July 2002–June 2005 and as SIG Governing Board Chair from July 2000–June 2002. As a French citizen now residing in Canada, he has more than 20 years of management experience in the software industry. He joined the local SIGGRAPH Chapter in Paris some 25 years ago as a volunteer and has continued his involvement with ACM in a variety of leadership capacities since then.

Click here to register for this free webinar and be sure to share this with friends and colleagues who may be interested in this topic. And check out our past events, all available on demand.