Register TODAY to attend the next free ACM Webcast, "The Security Impact of IPv6," presented on Wednesday, September 25, 2013 at 12 pm ET (11 am CT/10 am MT/9 am PT/4 pm GMT) by Dr. Johannes B. Ullrich, Dean of Research and a faculty member of the SANS Technology Institute. The talk will be followed by a live question and answer session. (If you'd like to attend but can't make it to the virtual event, you still need to register to receive a recording of the webinar when it becomes available.)

(Note: You can stream this and all ACM Learning Webinars on your mobile device, including smartphones and tablets.)

When IPv4 was designed more than 30 years ago, nobody anticipated the huge success of the protocol as a global business network. As a result, IPv6 was created to address many of the shortcomings of IPv4 and to properly integrate many of the patches applied to the original standard. However, uptake of IPv6 has been slow, and many networks tend to ignore it in favor of the better understood and “good enough” older protocol. Ignoring IPv6 does present some particular security risks. Modern operating systems are shipped today with IPv6 enabled, and limited ability to turn it off. Ignoring IPv6 can put networks at risks and networks will not be able to take advantage of some of the security features provided by IPv6.

What Attendees Can Expect to Learn About:

  • What are the critical features provided by IPv6?
  • IPv6 addresses and how they can be used to solve current network design issues
  • Uncontrolled IPv6 use and how it will put an organization's information at risk
  • IPv6 tunneling mechanism and transition mechanisms an attacker may use to breach networks or exfiltrate information

Duration: 60 minutes
Presenter:
Dr. Johannes B. Ullrich, SANS Technology Institute
Dr. Johannes Ullrich is the Dean of Research and a faculty member of the SANS Technology Institute. In November of 2000, Johannes started the DShield.org project, which he later integrated into the Internet Storm Center. His work with the Internet Storm Center has been widely recognized. In 2004, Network World named him one of the 50 most powerful people in the networking industry. Secure Computing Magazine named him in 2005 one of the Top 5 influential IT security thinkers. His research interests include IPv6, Network Traffic Analysis, and Secure Software Development. Johannes is regularly invited to speak at conferences and has been interviewed by major publications, radio, as well as TV stations. He is a member of the SANS Technology Institute's Faculty and Administration as well as the Curriculum and Long Range Planning Committee. As chief research officer for the SANS Institute, Johannes is currently responsible for the GIAC Gold program. Prior to working for SANS, Johannes worked as a lead support engineer for a web development company and as a research physicist. Johannes holds a Ph.D. in physics from SUNY Albany and is located in Jacksonville, Florida. He also maintains a daily security news summary podcast and enjoys blogging about application security.

Click here to register for this free webinar and be sure to share this with friends and colleagues who may be interested in this topic. And check out our past events, all available on demand.