Register NOW to attend the next free ACM Learning Webinar, "Condos and Clouds: Patterns in SaaS Applications," presented on Tuesday, November 13, 2012 at 2 PM EST (11 AM PST/12 PM MST/1 PM CST/7 PM UTC). Software architect Pat Helland will deliver this engaging presentation and SIGMOD Chair Yannis Ioannidis will moderate. The presentation will be followed by a live question and answer session.

(Note: You can stream this and all ACM Learning Webinars on your mobile device, including smartphones and tablets.)

Over the last 100+ years, the way people design, build, and use buildings has evolved. It is now normal to construct a building without knowing in advance who will occupy it. In addition, we increasingly have shared occupancy of our homes (apartments and condos), retail, and office space. To accomplish this change, the way we use the buildings has evolved. There is a new trust relationship, customs, and laws that establish the relationship between the occupants and the building managers.

Recently, our industry has been moving to implement Cloud Computing and, in particular, Software-as-a-Service (SaaS). This has been very successful in some applications and very challenging in others. This talk posits that many of the challenges we've seen in cloud computing can be understood by looking at what has happened in buildings and their occupancy. Standardization, usage patterns, legal establishment of rights and responsibilities are all nascent in the area of cloud computing. We examine a very common pattern in the implementation of “software as a service” and propose ways in which this pattern may be better supported in a multi-tenant fashion.
Duration: 60 minutes

Click here to register for this free webinar and be sure to share this with friends and colleagues who may be interested in this topic. And check out our past events, all available on demand.

Association for Computing Machinery
Advancing Computing as a Science & Profession