Thursday, June 28, 2012 at 12:00 PM EDT/11:00 AM CDT/9:00 AM PDT/4:00 PM UTC
According to some, the world will end at the Winter Solstice this year. If not, it’s certainly time to take a closer look at Business Intelligence (BI) and ask: “After 20 years, is it still fit for purpose? Can it deliver the type of support needed for decision-making in the next decade?” We are witnessing the birth of a new “biz-tech ecosystem,” where business and technology have become symbiotic and collaborative behavior is the norm. In this environment, decision-making is very different from what is supported by today’s BI. This webinar explores the emerging ecosystem and poses some interesting challenges for BI vendors and implementers in 2013... Assuming we’re all still here...

What you’ll learn about:

  • The meaning and emergence of the biz-tech ecosystem
  • The re-convergence of operational and informational systems
  • Data, information and knowledge – reopening Pandora’s Box
  • Millennials and team decision making – the whys and wherefores
  • Architectural models for 2013 and beyond

Presenter:
Barry Devlin
, 9sight Consulting; Member of ACM Business Intelligence/Data Management Tech Pack Committee
Barry Devlin is among the foremost authorities on business insight and one of the founders of data warehousing, having published the first architectural paper on the topic in 1988. With over 30 years of IT experience, including 20 years with IBM as a Distinguished Engineer, he is a widely respected analyst, consultant, lecturer, author of the seminal book Data Warehouse—from Architecture to Implementation and numerous White Papers, and an editor of the ACM Business Intelligence & Data Management Tech Pack. Barry is founder and principal of 9sight Consulting. He specializes in the human, organizational, and IT implications of deep business insight solutions that combine operational, informational, and collaborative environments. A regular contributor to BeyeNETWORK, Focus, SmartDataCollective, and TDWI, Barry is based in Cape Town, South Africa and operates worldwide.

Moderator:
Ankur Teredesai, University of Washington Tacoma; SIGKDD
Ankur Teredesai is an Associate Professor of Computer Science at the Institute of Technology, University of Washington Tacoma. His research interests include Data Management, Data Mining, Social Web, Ad Auctions, and Pervasive Computing. Ankur has worked on trust-enhanced social recommendation systems, handwritten zip-code recognition, novelty detection in video data streams, link analysis in online social networks, intelligent bidding agents for sponsored search advertising, and query processing in sensor networks. His work has appeared in numerous publications, as well as international conferences and research panels. Ankur is currently the Information Officer for SIGKDD (ACM Special Interest Group on Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining).

Attendance for this webinar is free. Space is limited.
This webcast provided by: