clip_image001

Today is Earth Day and I thought it appropriate to give reflect on how organizations are using IT to help the planet.  Judging by conversations that I have had with IT Managers and planners over the last year, many see virtualization and consolidating servers to be one way to reduce the carbon footprint of their organization as well as reduce the cost of operating their IT infrastructure.  This is one approach but many exist out there.

Many organizations are looking at ways to reduce their carbon footprint, reduce costs, and the role of technology in this mission.  Nobody has all the answers and different perspectives are always useful.  To help you in your search for answers, and to provide some perspective on what others have done (and in honour of Earth Day), I would like to make you aware of the Green IT Webcast Series  that will kick of on May 1st.

The Green IT Webcast Series will include a number of individuals who are implementing or driving the Green IT initiative at Microsoft and want to share their learning with you and those folks within your organization responsible for implementing those solutions.  The sessions that will be taking place include:

Title

Date

Time

Transforming the Data Center with Energy Efficiency (Level 200)

May 1, 2009

11:00 AM PST

2:00PM EST

Hyper-Green Virtualization: Scaling Enterprise IT for Energy Efficiency (Level 200)

May 5, 2009

10:00 AM PST

1:00PM EST

Cloud Computing Futures: Creating Greener Clouds with Microsoft Research (Level 200)

May 6, 2009

9:00 AM PST

12:00PM EST

Improving Energy Efficiency with Windows 7 Power Management (Level 200)

May 8, 2009

10:00 AM PST

1:00PM EST

 

To start the process, I invite you to register and attend IT Manager Webcast Series – Green IT webcast on April 29 at 12PM EST (9AM PST) being delivered by our colleagues in the United Kingdom.  This webcast designed specifically for IT Managers and planners.  By attending you will learn how a holistic approach to technology can move an organization to be more environmentally friendly while saving money at the same time – something to consider in these tough economic times.

Register and check out all of the webcasts.  Let me know what your organizations is doing to be more environmentally friendly and how it has impacted the way you do things.

Damir