Sharing of thoughts and information is what blogging is all about. This way we can learn from each other. Post A Comment!These postings are provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights. You assume all risk for your use.
Chris Di LulloSr. IT Pro Marketing Manager Twitter | LinkedIn Pierre Roman Twitter | LinkedIn Mitch Garvis Twitter | LinkedIn Anthony Bartolo Twitter | LinkedIn
If you’ve started reading from this post, you’ll need to go through the previous parts of this series before starting this one: Introduction Part 1: Provisioning and Configuring SQL Azure Part 2: Provisioning a Storage Account Part 3: Configuring the Service Package Part 4: Configuring the Hosted Service, Deploying the Package, and Testing Part 5: Promoting from Staging to Production
Since this deployment is for learning purposes only, we need to make sure that we take down the deployment so as to make sure that your credit card won’t be billed.
Dropping the SQL Azure Database
The database has now been dropped.
IMPORTANT: Once a database is dropped, it can’t be restored. In a real scenario, make sure that the database you select to drop is, in fact, the database you want to drop.
Dropping the SQL Azure Server
The database server has now been dropped.
IMPORTANT: Once a database server is dropped, it can’t be restored. In a real scenario, make sure that the server you select to drop is, in fact, the server you want to drop.
Deleting the Storage Account
The storage account has now been deleted.
IMPORTANT: Once a storage account is deleted, the account and everything stored in it is deleted and it can’t be restored. In a real scenario, make sure that the account you select to delete is, in fact, the account you wanted to delete.
Deleting the Hosted Service
NOTE: From a billing perspective, even though your deployment is stopped (i.e. no one can access the hosted service), you’ll still be billed for the compute hours. This is because your deployment is still consuming resources on the server to which it was deployed.
IMPORTANT: Once a deployment is deleted, it can’t be restored. In a real scenario, make sure that the deployment you select to delete is, in fact, the deployment you want to delete.
After a few moments, you will see that the deployment has been deleted.
With that, you’ve now removed all of the resources that you allocated during the setup the environment.
You have successfully set up staging and production environments, deployed an application to the Cloud, and then decommissioned those environments when they were no longer required. Let’s take a step back for a moment and reflect on what we’ve done here and the ease with which we did it. We’ve proven why Cloud computing works and how IT Pros, such as yourself, now have an infinite platform on which to deploy solutions that deliver on business opportunities without the constraints of physical infrastructure and geographic location.
Comments and Feedback
Take a moment to share what you thought of the walkthrough, what you’ve learned, and what next steps you’ll take on your journey to the Cloud in this LinkedIn group discussion. I’ll be reading through your responses and taking your feedback as input for next walkthrough and series of events that we’ll do together. We’ll go deeper into Windows Azure concepts and explore further.