Yesterday, I blogged about the fact that Windows Home Server was released and you soon could buy an HP MediaSmart Server powered by Windows Home Server.  It seems that HP is not yet shipping these units in Canada or the United States as their shopping sites on both sides of the border list them as "Coming Soon".  That being said, you can still purchase the OEM edition of Windows Home Server from system builders across the country including FrontierPC, NCIX, and probably many others since the OEM version has entered the distribution channel in Canada - the part number (SKU) is CCQ-00015.  You can then ask that same system builder to put together a custom-built Windows Home Server machine of your own and get it built just the way you want.

Now, back to the HP MediaSmart Server, according to a recent article in the Edmonton Journal, we should be seeing them in Canada by the end of the month at your local FutureShop or Best Buy.  If you want to find out more about this exciting new home solution, join the Windows Home Server team, along with HP, for an online event and a first look at the HP MediaSmart Server.

HP will perform a live demo of the HP MediaSmart Server, and leading technology experts will be on hand to answer your questions and discuss the future of home networking. Here's the schedule: 

Dates

Times

Guest Expert

Thursday, November 8th

4:00-5:00PM (PT), 7:00-8:00PM (ET)

Rick Doherty - Envisioneering

Friday, November 9th

1:00PM-2:00PM (PT), 4:00-5:00PM (ET)

Rob Enderle - The Enderle Group

Tuesday November 27th

10:00AM-11:00AM (PT), 1:00PM-2:00PM (ET)

Paul Thurrott - Supersite for Windows

Thursday, November 29th

8:00AM-9:00AM (PT)

11:00AM-12:00PM (ET)

Ed Bott - ZDNet

For more information and to register, visit: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/windowshomeserver/hpmediasmart.mspx