Brooks White, Sr. PFE for Project Server

I am a Microsoft Premier Field Engineer supporting Project Server.

Backward Compatibility Mode in Project Server 2010 After Upgrade

Backward Compatibility Mode in Project Server 2010 After Upgrade

  • Comments 2
  • Likes

If you are testing Project Server 2010 by upgrading your Project Server 2007 databases in a test environment, then you may notice that the new 2010 feature of manual scheduling is not available.  I worked with a customer today who had performed an upgrade in his test environment and noticed that the great new feature he had heard about for manual scheduling just wasn’t available.  This is caused by Backward Compatibility Mode being on as a result of the upgrade.

So, what’s the point of Backward Compatibility Mode?  Well, after you upgrade to Project Server 2010 (either by the in-place or database-attach upgrade method), BCM allows you to avoid having to upgrade your Project Professional 2007 client computers at the same time.  This means you can upgrade to Project Pro 2010 on a schedule that suits your budget without having to take a single larger hit at one time.  Once everyone is upgraded to Project Pro 2010, you can turn off BCM and enjoy all the new features that are available and, to be honest, really cool.

Keep in mind, however, that once BCM is disabled it cannot be re-enabled. Verify that you want to disable BCM if you are going to make the change.

This article describes Backward Compatibility Mode and its effects and also how to turn it off.

 

Comments
  • Hi Brooks,

    Nice blog.

    BCM enable is creating nay issue or only disble new feature.Because i am facing many permsiion denied issue.I need to know this is happen becaus eof BCM enable or any other issue behinde this.

  • Hasan,

    Thank you for commenting on my blog!

    I have not heard of BCM causing problems with permissions or causing users to receive Access Denied messages.  You comment doesn't say whether users are seeing problems in PWA or in the Project Professional software.  BCM is a short term Band-Aid and is not intended to be run for a long period of time, so I would recommend turning BCM off as soon as your project managers have all been upgraded to the same Project Pro version as the Project Server version in your environment.

    Of course, I always recommend having a test environment to see if you can reproduce the problem there, but it may not be worth investigating if you can turn off BCM in production.

    I hope this helps!

    Brooks

Your comment has been posted.   Close
Thank you, your comment requires moderation so it may take a while to appear.   Close
Leave a Comment